Warner/Chappell named Music Publisher of the Year at BMI Pop Awards

Warner/Chappell Music picked up the Music Publisher Of The Year gong at the BMI Pop Awards in Los Angeles yesterday (May 9).

The company’s Justin Tranter took home Songwriter of the Year, having composed four of this year’s award-winning songs. Ross Golan also picked up a Songwriter Of The Year gong.

Overall, Warner/Chappell songwriters picked up 17 awards, including Ross Golan with four, Julia Michaels with three, and Tyler Joseph of Twenty One Pilots with two.

(You can see the complete list of Warner/Chappell’s award-winning songs below.)

Jon Platt, Chairman & CEO of Warner/Chappell Music, said, “Warner/Chappell is built around putting songwriters first in everything we do, and being recognized as Publisher of the Year is a tremendous honor and confirmation of our efforts.

“We’re so proud of Justin Tranter and Ross Golan, who won 2017 Songwriter of the Year, and all of our winners tonight.”

  • “Cake By the Ocean,” co-written by Justin Tranter
  • “Close,” co-written by Justin Tranter and Julia Michaels
  • “Closer,” co-written by Shaun Frank
  • “Dangerous Woman,” co-written by Ross Golan
  • “Good to Be Alive,” co-written by Ross Golan and Ian Kirkpatrick
  • “Hands to Myself,” co-written by Justin Tranter and Julia Michaels
  • “Never Be Like You,” co-written by Geoffrey Early
  • “Marvin Gaye,” co-written by Nick Seeley
  • “Me Myself and I,” co-written by Michael Leary
  • “My House,” co-written by Ross Golan
  • “One Call Away,” co-written by Breyan Isaac
  • “Ride,” co-written by Tyler Joseph
  • “Same Old Love,” co-written by Ross Golan
  • “Stressed Out,” co-written by Tyler Joseph
  • “Sorry,” co-written by Justin Tranter and Julia Michaels
  • “We Don’t Talk Anymore,” co-written by Charlie Puth
  • “Work from Home,” co-written by Brian Lee

Warner/Chappell Music was also named Publisher of the Year at the 2014 BMI R&B/Hip-Hop Awards, as well as at the 2014 and 2016 ASCAP Pop Music Awards, 2016 ASCAP Country Music Awards (for the fourth year in a row) and the 2015 ASCAP Latin Music Awards.

[Pictured L-R: Charlie Amter (WCM), Marc Wilson (WCM), Steve Butler (WCM), Greg Sowders (WCM), Ryan Press (WCM), Katie Vinten (WCM), Jon Platt (WCM), Barbara Cane (BMI), Clark Miller (WCM), Mike O’Neill (BMI), Katy Wolaver (WCM)]Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts