Spirit B-Unique acquires Polar Patrol Publishing

Spirit B-Unique UK has acquired independent publishing company Polar Patrol Publishing.

Polar Patrol Publishing, administered by Kobalt, was founded by Jonny Quinn, Nathan Connolly, and Gary Lightbody from the band Snow Patrol.

Its catalogue includes successful songs written by Snow Patrol, Belle and Sebastian, and Ed Sheeran co-writer Johnny McDaid.

Polar Patrol’s Steve Farris will continue on working out of the new Spirit B-Unique offices in London and, in addition to servicing the existing Polar Patrol roster, will also search for new signing opportunities for Spirit B-Unique as the deal also includes a joint venture for new signings.

Spirit B-Unique was born in August last year when the publishing division of UK independent music firm B-Unique struck a deal with fast-expanding US firm Spirit.

Spirit B-Unique is run by Martin Toher and Mark Lewis, Co-Presidents of Spirit B-Unique U.K alongside Rak Sanghvi, Managing Director of UK/International, Spirit B-Unique.

“Polar Patrol brings so many wonderful songs and talented songwriters to Spirit, and it’s an honor to be in business with Johnny Quinn, Nathan Connolly, and Gary Lightbody. Not only have they made amazing music as members of Snow Patrol, but they’ve shown they’re equally capable as businessmen by assembling such a remarkable catalog of music in Polar Patrol Publishing over the years. We’re very excited to work with them to continue building on the success that the Polar Patrol catalog and songwriters have had in the UK and around the world,” said David Renzer (pictured) Chairman and CEO, Spirit Music Group.

“Polar Patrol are chuffed to bits to announce our partnership with Spirit-B Unique. We’ve always admired their roster and reputation whilst sharing our independent values. We’re buzzing about the future,” said Johnny Quinn of Snow Patrol and Polar Patrol Publishing.

“We have been admirers of Polar Patrol for some time and see a real growth parallel with B-unique. What Snow Patrol have achieved as a band is very special, but put into context alongside the building of their publishing company, they have created something extraordinary. We are looking forward to working with Jonny Quinn and the team.

“The roster is exciting and varied. We are also proud to be working with Johnny Mcdaid, who is an incredible talent and already one of the world’s premier songwriters.” said Mark Lewis.

In addition to songs by Snow Patrol, who have sold more than 10 million albums worldwide, Polar Patrol Publishing’s roster also includes songwriter Johnny McDaid, who co-wrote nearly half of the songs on Ed Sheeran’s album X. The album was Spotify’s most-streamed album of 2014 with over 430 million streams. McDaid’s co-writes include the smash hit singles “Photograph” (UK No. 1) and “Bloodstream” (UK No. 2).

Polar Patrol also publishes Belle and Sebastian, including their latest album, Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance (over 150,000 copies sold), as well as the band’s forthcoming untitled studio album.

Rising bands and songwriters signed to Polar Patrol include Here We Go Magic, Bo Bruce and Gita Langley.Music Business Worldwide