Sony acquires 33 Van Morrison albums – but not Astral Weeks

Sony Music’s catalogue division, Legacy Recordings, has acquired the rights to 33 Van Morrison solo albums.

The collection does not include arguably Morrison’s two most renowned LPs: Astral Weeks (1968) and Moondance (1970). Their rights appear to remain with Warner Music Group.

It does, however, include all of Morrison’s studio and live works from Saint Dominic’s Preview (1972) to the present day, as well as the recordings he made with rock band Them from 1964-1966.

The archive has been exclusively licensed to Sony by Morrison’s own Exile Productions Ltd. Many of the records previously appeared on Universal labels such as Polydor.

Sony also controls rights to Van Morrison’s solo debut LP, Blowin’ Your Mind (1967), which features Brown Eyed Girl.

Sony says it will make its 33 newly-licensed Van Morrison solo albums available as digital releases from Friday (August 28) – marking the first time much of the artist’s catalogue has appeared on streaming services.

On the same day, Legacy will release the Essential Van Morrison, a 37-track career-spanning anthology, available digitally and as a 2CD physical album.

In the upcoming months, Sony says it will ‘launch the label’s ongoing Van Morrison library release project with new compilations, deluxe Legacy Editions of classic album titles and a digital rollout of the full Van Morrison catalogue’.

“Legacy is proud to partner with van to help him protect and curate his astounding catalogue.”

Adam Block, Legacy Recordings

This plot will include deluxe Legacy Editions of Saint Dominic’s Preview, and two other Morrison solo albums – It’s Too Late to Stop Now, Hard Nose the Highway and Enlightenment.

“Van Morrison is one of the great singers, performers and musical artists in the history of recorded music,” said Adam Block, President, Legacy Recordings.

“He continues to touch the hearts and souls of millions with the emotional power and spiritual truths of his songs.

“Legacy Recordings is proud to partner with Van to help him protect and curate his astounding catalog and to be given the opportunity to bring his music to whole new generations of fans around the world.”

Winner of a BRIT Award for Outstanding Contribution to British Music (1994), Van Morrison holds six Grammy Awards (1996-2007) and an Ivor Novello Award for Lifetime Achievement (1995).

In June this year, Van Morrison was awarded an honorary knighthood during the Queen’s annual Birthday Honours celebration.

Newly-titled Sir George Ivan Morrison, the artist received the United Kingdom’s highest individual honor for his “services to the music industry and to tourism in Northern Ireland.”

“Throughout my career I have always preferred to let my music speak for me, and it is a huge honor to now have that body of work recognized in this way,” said Van Morrison in a statement given in response to the news, reported the BBC.

Van Morrison Material included under Legacy Recordings


  • The Angry Young Them / Them (1965)
  • Them Again (1966)
  • Them featuring Van Morrison (compilation, 1972)
  • The Story of Them featuring Van Morrison (compilation, 1997)

Van Morrison

  • St. Dominic’s Preview (1972)
  • Hard Nose the Highway (1973)
  • It’s Too Late to Stop Now (Live) (1974)
  • Veedon Fleece (1974)
  • A Period of Transition (1977)
  • Wavelength (1978)
  • Into the Music (1979)
  • Common One (1980)
  • Beautiful Vision (1982)
  • Inarticulate Speech of the Heart (1983)
  • Live at the Grand Opera House, Belfast (Live) (1984)
  • A Sense of Wonder (1984)
  • No Guru, No Method, No Teacher (1984)
  • Poetic Champions Compose (1987)
  • Irish Heartbeat (w/the Chieftains) (1988)
  • Avalon Sunset (1989)
  • Enlightenment (1990)
  • Hymns to the Silence (1991)
  • Too Long in Exile (1993)
  • A Night in San Francisco (Live) (1994)
  • Days Like This (1995)
  • How Long Has This Been Going On? (1995)
  • Tell Me Something: The Songs of Mose Allison (1996)
  • The Healing Game (1997)
  • The Philosopher’s Stone (2CD outtakes compilation, 1998)
  • Back on Top (1999)
  • The Skiffle Sessions: Live in Belfast (Live) (2000)
  • Down the Road (2002)
  • What’s Wrong with This Picture? (2003)
  • Magic Time (2005)
  • Pay the Devil (2006)
  • Keep it Simple (2008)
  • Astral Weeks “Live at the Hollywood Bowl” (Live) (2009)

Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts