SOCAN elects new board of directors to serve from 2018 to 2021

Canada-based collection society SOCAN has announced the results of its 2018 Board of Directors election, based on votes cast by SOCAN members (music creators and publishers) from April 10 to May 9, 2018.

Five additional women have been added to the board, bringing near-gender-parity to the group.

SOCAN’s Board of Directors consists of 18 people – nine writer members and nine publisher members, with regional, cultural and genre specific representation – elected for a three-year term.

The following people were elected and will take office when KPMG, the scrutineer, officially presents the results at the SOCAN Annual General Meeting on June 19, 2018, in Toronto.

Representing SOCAN Music Writer Members (alphabetically by last name):
  • Patricia Conroy
  • Victor Davies *
  • Damhnait Doyle
  • Martine Groulx
  • Edward Henderson *
  • Stan Meissner *
  • Glenn Morley *
  • Marc Ouellette *
  • Diane Tell
Representing SOCAN Music Publisher Members (by company name):
  • Jennifer Mitchell (Casablanca Media Publishing / Red Brick Music Publishing) *
  • Earl Rosen (De Sade Songs) *
  • Rosaire Archambault (Éditorial Avenue Inc.) *
  • Denis Wolff (Ho-Tune Musique) *
  • Janice Staub (Hyvetown Music Inc.) *
  • Cheryl Link (Peermusic Canada Inc.)
  • Gary Furniss (Sony / ATV Music Publishing Canada) *
  • Patrick Curley (Third Side Music Inc.) *
  • Vivian Barclay (Warner Chappell Music Canada) *

“Congratulations to each of our newly-elected SOCAN Board of Directors,” said Eric Baptiste, CEO of SOCAN (pictured).

“The SOCAN management team looks forward to working with this esteemed group as we work towards leading the global transformation of music rights, as SOCAN diversifies as a future-centric organization. We are also pleased that, with eight of our 18 board members now being female, the group reflects the gender parity and equal opportunity that the SOCAN management team and staff have enjoyed and fostered for many years.

“I would like to thank departing board members Jean-Robert Bisaillon, Safwan Javed, Ben Mink and Robert Ott for their service and dedication to SOCAN and the Canadian music ecosystem overall, and, in particular, Gilles Valiquette for his 26 years of unwavering, continuous commitment as a member of the board, including serving as its chair for five years.”

Following SOCAN’s annual general meeting, the new board of directors will hold its first meeting when it will elect the chair of the board and other officers who will serve until the next election in 2021.Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts