Max Martin wins ASCAP Songwriter of The Year Award for 8th time

Max Martin has won the Songwriter Of The Year gong at the ASCAP Pop Music Awards for the fifth consecutive year, and the eighth time in his career.

The Kobalt-signed Swedish songsmith/producer picked up the trophy on April 29th at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.

Martin wrote or co-wrote some of this year’s biggest hits including Bang Bang by Ariana Grande, Jessie J and Nicki Minaj; Break Free by Ariana Grande ft. Zedd; Dark Horse and Roar by Katy Perry; Problem by Ariana Grande ft. Iggy Azalea; and Shake It Off by Taylor Swift.

Martin is now tied with Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis for the most ASCAP Songwriter of the Year Awards ever.

Other winners at the ASCAP Pop Awards included:

  • KISS. Dave Grohl presented the ASCAP Founders Award to rock ‘n roll icons KISS. The Founders Award is given to pioneering ASCAP songwriters who have ‘made exceptional contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators’. KISS have sold 100 million albums worldwide in their 40-year career, writing hits like Detroit Rock City, Shout It Out Loud, I Was Made for Lovin’ You and Rock and Roll All Nite.” Previous Founders Award recipients include Elvis Costello, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Patti Smith, Steely Dan, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry (Aerosmith), Tom Waits, Ann & Nancy Wilson (Heart) and Neil Young.
  • The Doobie Brothers. Patrick Simmons and Michael McDonald of The Doobie Brothers accepted the ASCAP Voice of Music Award from ASCAP Assistant Vice President, Creative Services Loretta Muñoz. The award honors ASCAP members whose music ‘gives voice to the spirit of a generation’. Prior recipients include Mary J. Blige, Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Daddy Yankee, Luis Fonsi, Amy Grant, George Strait, Diane Warren and Jimmy Webb.
  • St. Vincent. The independent artist was recognised with The ASCAP Vanguard Award. Presented by Big Deal Songs President Kenny MacPherson, the honor celebrates ‘songwriters who have impacted musical genres that are shaping the future of American music’. A Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter whose self-titled fourth studio album topped critics lists, St. Vincent joins previous ASCAP Vanguard Award honorees including Arcade Fire, Band of Horses, Beastie Boys, Beck, Björk, Sara Bareilles, Diplo, fun., The Killers, Modest Mouse and The Strokes.
  • Toby Gad. The songwriter picked up Song of the Year from ASCAP for All of Me, which was recorded by John Legend and peaked at #1 on the Billboard Hot 100. It became the second best-selling song of 2014 in the US, with 4.67 million copies sold for the year, and the third best-selling song in the United Kingdom. All of Me was also the third best-selling song of 2014 worldwide with sales of 12.3 million. The song is published by Gad Songs & Sony/ATV Tunes LLC.
  • Sony/ATV. ASCAP Publisher of the Year went to Sony/ATV. ASCAP CEO Elizabeth Matthews and Executive Vice President of Membership John Titta presented the award to Sony/ATV CEO Martin Bandier and the Sony/ATV creative team. Matthews and Titta also presented the ASCAP Independent Publisher of the Year Award to Prescription Songs LLC SVP. Prescription has won the award three years in a row.

Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts