Martin Mills re-elected as Merlin Chairman

Merlin, the global rights agency for the independent label sector, has announced the results of its biennial board election – with Beggars Group founder Martin Mills continuing as Chairman.

Meanwhile Erik Gilbert (Essential Music & Marketing USA) and Ashley Whitfield (Evolution Music Hong Kong) both join the board for the first time.

Non-voting observers added to the North America and Europe blocs are Kris Gillespie (Domino Recording Co, USA), Darius Van Arman (Dead Oceans/Jagjaguwar/Numero Group/Secretly Canadian, USA) Emmanuel de Buretel (Because Music, France) and Oke Goettlich (Finetunes, Germany). No observers have currently been added for the ROW.

The board will sit for two years, effective October 28th 2014.

Commenting on the results, Charles Caldas, Merlin CEO said: “That this election attracted such strong candidate numbers, representing some of the world’s most important music companies, is testament to Merlin’s standing within the independent community. We were founded as a truly global operation, a fact reflected in the make-up and construct of our board, and I am honoured to lead an organisation that draws together such experience and expertise.”

The full Merlin board, in alphabetical order per bloc, is as follows:


Erik Brataas – Phonofile (Norway)
Michel Lambot – PIAS Group (Belgium)
Martin Mills – Beggars Group (UK)
Florian von Hoyer – Altafonte (Spain)
Horst Weidenmueller – K7 (Germany)

Non-voting observers:

Emmanuel de Buretel – Because Music (France)
Oke Goettlich – Finetunes (Germany)


Glenn Dicker – Redeye Distribution and Yep Roc Records – (USA)
Erik Gilbert – Essential Music and Marketing (USA)
Dave Hansen – Epitaph Records (USA)
Geoff Kulawick – IDLA (Canada)
Tom Silverman – Tommy Boy (USA)

Non-voting observers:

Kris Gillespie – Domino Recording Co (USA)
Darius Van Arman – Dead Oceans/Jagjaguwar/Numero Group/Secretly Canadian (USA)


Colin Daniels – Inertia (Australia)
Hilton Roth – African Dope – (South Africa)
Luciana Pegorer – Delira Musica (Brazil)
Ashley Whitfield – Evolution Music (Hong Kong)
Alison Wenham – President of WIN – representing companies in all ROW countries not represented on the board.Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts