IMPEL elects new Board Directors for 2017

Independent Music Publishers e-Licensing (IMPEL), the collective of independent music publishers licensing Anglo-American mechanical digital rights internationally for publishers, has announced its 2017 Board Director Election results.

A total of 7 IMPEL members stood for 4 elected director vacancies on the IMPEL Board.

The results of the voting sees John Minch (Imagem), Simon Platz (Bucks), Nigel Elderton (Peermusic), Chris Butler (Music Sales), John Truelove (Truelove Music) and Mike Box (Reservoir/Reverb) all re-elected to the Board.

Newly elected to the board are Roberto Neri (Downtown) and Peter Thomas (Carlin) with Maria Forte (Fintage) and Stuart Hornall (Hornall Brothers) standing down.

Earlier this year IMPEL announced that its distributions increased by 60% in 2016.

In its early phases, IMPEL stood as a core group of 4 members.

The membership has grown considerably and is now the largest collective of international music publishers including Beggars Music, Imagem Music, ABKCO, New Songs Administration, The Music Sales Group, Sentric and Cooking Vinyl.

Its membership of almost 50 publishers represent some of the world’s pre-eminent songwriters and composers such as Leiber/Stoller (Carlin), David Gilmour (Imagem/Pink Floyd Music Publishing), Daft Punk (Imagem, pictured), Ray Davies (Kassner), Tom Petty (Wixen UK), Lou Reed (Spirit B-Unique) and The Weeknd (SONGS).

Established in 2010, Independent Music Publishers e-Licensing (IMPEL) has appointed MCPS to license and administer the mechanical rights in their Anglo-American repertoire in international online activities on their behalf.

IMPEL offers the benefits of collective rights management to independent publishers; the ability to combine their repertoire and offer it on a multi-territory basis to digital music-services under a single licence.Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts