Downtown Music Publishing launches JV with the Invisible Men

Downtown Music Publishing has entered into a joint venture with Grammy-nominated music producers the Invisible Men.

Under this cooperative agreement, Downtown will provide bespoke creative and advisory services as well as its global royalty collection platform to songwriters signed to the venture.

The first signing under the JV is songwriting and production duo Saltwives, made up of Alex Oriet and David Phelan, whose credits include eight tracks from Zayn’s debut album Mind of Mine (“Like I Would,” “Wrong” feat. Kehlani, “She Doesn’t Love Me,” among others).

They have also written for Iggy Azalea (including chart topping single “Trouble”), Charles Hamilton ( “New York Raining” feat. Rita Ora), and BeBe Rexha.

“We at Downtown are so delighted to have signed this JV partnership with the Invisible Men. Their reputation for spotting and nurturing talent has taken them and the artists they have written for to global recognition,” said Roberto Neri, Managing Director of Downtown Music UK.

“The first signing under our JV is Saltwives, who have already had worldwide hits under their belt. David and Alex are extremely talented, hard working and deserve every moment of their success.”

“the Invisible Men’s reputation for spotting and nurturing talent has taken them and the artists they have written for to global recognition.”

Roberto Neri, Downtown

The Invisible Men, a Grammy-nominated and multi-platinum songwriting and music production trio consisting of Jason Pebworth, George Astasio, and Jon Shave, and has produced several international hits with Iggy Azalea, Sigala, DJ Fresh, Conor Maynard, Jessie J, and the Noisettes.

The trio said in a statement: “We’re thrilled to be partnering with Downtown on this joint venture. Our first signing to the Invisible Men Publishing/Downtown will be the hugely talented production duo Alex Oriet and David Phelan aka the Saltwives. In the two years we’ve worked with the Saltwives they’ve notched up hit records for the likes of Iggy Azalea, Zayn, Charles Hamilton & Bebe Rexha with tons of exciting cuts lining up for 2017.”

Saltwives said: “We are delighted to be signing with Downtown Music Publishing who have an innovative approach to the challenges and opportunities of the music business and an outstanding global creative team. We look forward to continued success and collaboration with the Invisible Men and making many great songs that will have an excellent home with Downtown.”

Founded in 2007, Downtown Music Publishing is headquartered in New York with offices in Nashville, Los Angeles, London, Amsterdam and Tokyo.

The company’s catalog encompasses songwriters and artists including The Beatles, John Lennon & Yoko Ono, The Kinks, Cy Coleman, Hans Zimmer, Bruce Springsteen, Mötley Crüe, Social Distortion, One Direction, Benny Blanco, Sturgill Simpson, and Carla Bruni.

The company’s technology platform, Songtrust, powers global royalty collection from over 100 countries.

[Pictured L-R]: Roberto Neri (Downtown), Jon Shave (the Invisible Men), George Astasio (the Invisible Men), Jason Pebworth (the Invisible Men), Alex Oriet (Saltwives), Laura Lukanz (First Access Management), David Phelan (Saltwives) Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts