The A&R Awards in association with Abbey Road Studios: It’s a sell out!

Just one week after the finalists list for The A&R Awards in association with Abbey Road Studios was announced, the event has completely sold out.

That’s completely sold out.

Not ‘this might drum up a few more cheeky table sales’ sold out.

Not ‘it’s basically all shifted so let’s say “sold out” to look good’ sold out.

Sold out. Maxed out. Full.


The event takes place on the evening of Wednesday, November 2 at the Sheraton Grand Hotel Piccadilly (‘The Park Lane Hotel’).

It will be hosted by comedian Doc Brown – recently seen on the big screen playing Dom Johnson in box office hit David Brent: Life On The Road.

There will be awards handed out for labels, publishers, managers, producers, songwriters, individual executives and artists – all judged by senior expert figures from across the global music business.

George Martin

In addition to Artist Loyalty and A&R Icon gongs, the event – presented by Music Business Worldwide – will feature an extra special award dedicated to the late Sir George Martin.

The Sir George Martin Award will recognise an A&R executive with a track record of fostering meaningful artist and songwriter relationships, who has helped push artists to fresh heights of success – and who continues to play a key role in contemporary hit-making today.

The award cannot be pitched for, with the recipient decided by MBW in conjunction with the Sir George Martin estate.

Watch out for more announcements about The A&R Awards in association with Abbey Road Studios next week – including the winner of the A&R Icon Award, and news regarding some big league supporters of the ceremony.

A very small number of sponsorship opportunities are still available. Please email [email protected] for more information.

Check out the finalist shortlist in full below.

The Breaking Artist Award (label in brackets)

  • Anne-Marie (Atlantic Records)
  • Blossoms (Virgin EMI)
  • Dua Lipa (Warner Bros)
  • Gavin James (Good Soldier)
  • JONES (37 Adventures)
  • JP Cooper (Island)
  • Lapsley (XL)
  • NAO (RCA)
  • Stormzy (independent)
  • Walking On Cars (Virgin EMI)

The Breakthrough Artist Award (label in brackets)

  • Catfish & The Bottlemen (Island)
  • Jess Glynne (Atlantic)
  • Laura Mvula (RCA)
  • Michael Kiwanuka (Polydor)
  • The 1975 (Dirty Hit/Polydor)
  • The Shires (Decca)
  • Sigala (Ministry Of Sound)
  • Snakehips (Columbia)
  • Tom Odell (Columbia)
  • Years & Years (Polydor)

Producer Of The Year

  • Levi Lennox
  • MNEK
  • Mike Crossey
  • Mark Ralph
  • Paul Epworth

Songwriter Of The Year

  • Camille Purcell
  • Cass Lowe
  • Nick Gale (aka Digital Farm Animals)
  • Levi Lennox
  • Jonny Coffer

A&R Administrator

  • Ashley Forbes – Virgin EMI
  • Karen Lynch – Island
  • Nicola Doherty – Parlophone
  • Sarah Vaughan – Sony Music UK
  • Paul Mitchell – Sony Music UK

A&R Of The Year: Electronic/Dance

  • Daniel Miller – Mute
  • David Dollimore & Dipesh Parmar – Ministry Of Sound
  • Elias Christidis  – FFRR Records
  • Jason Ellis – Positiva/Virgin
  • Mike Pickering & Julian Palmer – Columbia Records
  • Simon Dunmore – Defected

A&R Of The Year – Hip-Hop/Grime

  • Amber Davis – Warner/Chappell
  • Buck & Trent (and Giggs) – SN1 Records
  • Caroline SM – XL Recordings
  • DJ SemtexSony Music
  • Richard Thomas (and Kano) – Bigger Picture Music
  • Twin B – Atlantic Records
  • Veronna James & Kane Mousah – Bugzy Malone
  • Zeon Richards – Polydor/Renowned

A&R Of The Year: Pop/R&B

  • Anya Jones & Guy Langley – Syco Music
  • Ben Mortimer – Polydor
  • Briony Turner – Atlantic
  • Daniel Lloyd Jones – Sony/ATV
  • Danny D & Tim Blacksmith – Stellar Songs
  • Hiten Bharadia – Phrased Differently

A&R Of The Year: Rock/Alternative

  • Ben Mortimer – Polydor
  • Christian Tattersfield & Alex Gilbert – Good Soldier
  • Korda Marshall & Thomas Haimovici – BMG
  • Nick Burgess – Virgin/EMI
  • Jamie Oborne – Dirty Hit
  • Tim Dellow & Toby L – Transgressive

Management Company

Publisher Of The Year

  • BMG
  • Kobalt
  • Sony/ATV
  • UMPG
  • Warner/Chappell

Publisher Of The Year

Major Label Of The Year

  • Atlantic
  • Black Butter
  • Columbia
  • Island
  • Parlophone
  • Polydor
  • Virgin EMI

Independent Label Of The Year

Music Business Worldwide

Related Posts